All water is not the same! That means not all water losses are the same also. You can’t trust your eyes to tell the difference regarding clean verses contaminated water. The Flood Team  can  help determine the type of water damage you’re facing, and the appropriate steps to take of it. There are three categories of water.The categories are determined not by the actual color of the water itself, but by the amount of contamination and the length of time that has passed since the damage occurred.

You also must consider where the water came from. That plays a major factor in the amount of contamination that could potentially be in the water. For example; A facet that has overflowed the sink and ran on the floor for several minutes will be categorized differently than water that has came out of a sanitary sewer drain because they drain carries feces and other waste that could pose harm to people if ingested or exposed.



Category 1: Fresh Water

Fresh water originates from a source that does not pose a substantial threat to humans. This could be broken water supply lines, tub or sink overflow, rain, or melting ice or snow. Fresh water will degrade to grey water in approximately 72 hours.


Category 2: Gray water

Gray water is unsanitary water that contains some degree of contamination that would cause sickness if consumed by humans. This can include dishwasher overflow, toilet backups and waterbed and aquarium leaks. Gray water will degrade to black water in approximately 48 hours.


Category 3: Black water

Black water consists of grossly unsanitary water containing disease producing pathological agents like sewage back-up, ground surface water or floodwater from streams or rivers that carry organic matter. If water has laid stagnant for more than 120 hours, it is considered black water.

Contact us now for a 24/7 Free Water Damage Evaluation.



View Sitemap

Contact Us